2017 Lysicrates Prize Cast & Creatives


Now in its third year, the Lysicrates Prize is a philanthropic initiative presented by 

The competition is only open to writers who’ve had three or more mainstage plays produced. In contrast to the Griffin Award, which is open to writers at every stage of their career, the Lysicrates Prize is intended to support established artists; recognising the significant challenges facing any writer, regardless of experience. The prize has attracted entries from some of the country’s most exciting and innovative writers.

 On 10 February The Lysicrates Foundation in association with Griffin and The Royal Botanic Garden, Sydney, will commission a brand new Australian play as decided upon by the audience present (each audience member is given one vote).

Here’s how it works: established writers from around the country were asked to submit one act of a new play, then we chose the best three to be staged on the day. This year’s selected scripts were written by Melissa Bubnic, Jennifer Compton, and Nick Coyle. We’re luck enough to have amazing talent presenting the work on the day, including:

Kim Hardwick
Ben Winspear
Gale Edwards 

Tina Bursill
Linda Cropper
Nikki Shiels
Gareth Davies
Belinda Giblin
Celia Ireland
Claire Lovering
Lynette Curran
Amanda Muggleton
Shari Sebbens

Charlie Davis