Grumble is still rumbling...


Due to Griffin’s temporary relocation to the Seymour Centre, Enemies of Grooviness—Eat Shit by Emma Maye Gibson and Betty Grumble will no longer be presented as a part of Griffin’s 2020 Season. The great news, though, is that the show will still be going ahead at The Red Rattler Theatre in Marrickville from 26 October – 4 November, presented by Performing Lines! This means that Griffin will no longer be managing tickets for Enemies of Grooviness—Eat Shit. You can buy tickets for the show here.

A ritual theatre work entrenched in pleasure activism, conducted by your local hysterical heretic and person of interest, Betty Grumble. This is the show she performs instead of an assassination attempt, where laughter is sharpened to a blade and the body a feeling tonic. Grumble continues her quest for world-saving and love-making via our ancestors of rock ‘n’ roll, protest and poetry. Hope Energy meets Rage Energy in this all-singing, all-howling cabaret du Sex Clown.

“Transformative and wild. See Grumble!”

“A Revelation.”
The Age

Developed through The Red Rattler Artist Residency Program.

Image: Acid Tongue

Cast & Creatives

Written and performed by Emma Maye Gibson and Betty Grumble
Produced by Unfunded Empathy
Featuring music by Stereogamous

Developed through The Red Rattler Artist Residency Program.

Performance Times

Season 26 – 31 October

Performance Times
Monday – Saturday 7pm

Please note, there is a complete lock-out on all performances and latecomers won’t be admitted, so make sure you give yourself plenty of time to get to us, grab a drink, and get settled.


Subscription Add On

Full $35
Three Pack (Special Events & Griffin Lookout) $99

Single Tickets

All $35
Monday Rush (when applicable) $20

Transaction fees of $4 for online bookings and $6 for phone bookings apply.

By purchasing from Griffin Theatre Company you are agreeing to be bound by these terms and conditions.

Supported By

Supported by the Australian Government through the Australia Council for the Arts, its arts funding and advisory body; and the NSW Government through Create NSW.