The Lysicrates Prize 2020

The Lysicrates Prize is a philanthropic initiative presented by The Lysicrates Foundation and produced by Griffin Theatre Company.

The winner of The Lysicrates Prize 2020 is Brooke Robinson for her play Deoxybribo-Whatever Acid.

Congratulations to Brooke, and to the other two finalists for 2020, Katy Warner for The Party and Matthew Whittet for No Need to Hide a Light When it Shines Like Hers.


The winner of the 2019 Lysicrates Prize was playwright Jane Bodie for Tell Me You Love Me.The two runners-up were Julian Larnach for Leviathan and Katy Warner forAppropriate. 

The 2018 winner was playwright Travis Cotton for his play Starfish. The two runners-up were Christine Evans for GALILEE and H Lawrence Sumner for The Hollow Queen.

Melissa Bubnic received the 2017 prize for Ghosting the PartyRunners-up were Jennifer Compton for The Goose in the Bottle and Nick Coyle for The Feather in the Web, which later featured in our 2018 season.

Mary Rachel Brown received the 2016 prize for her play Approximate BalanceThis play, re-titled Dead Cat Bounce, featured in the 2019 Griffin Season. Runners-up were playwrights Elise Hearst and Campion Decent.

Steve Rodgers won the inaugural Lysicrates Prize for his play Jesus Wants Me for a SunbeamRunners-up were Lally Katz and Justin Fleming. The audience’s response to Justin’s play The Literati was so enthusiastic that the play was selected to be co-produced by Bell Shakespeare and Griffin in 2016, where it enjoyed a sell-out season at the Stables Theatre.