Help our youngest audience have a say in the future of Australian theatre!

The Martin Lysicrates Prize celebrates the best new Australian writing for children.


We are thrilled to announce the winner of the 2018 Martin Lysicrates Prize is playwright Brendan Hogan for his new play Farewell Mr Nippy! Brendan will now receive a full commission to complete the work.

Congratulations to finalist playwrights Nick Coyle (Jake Cameron Meet and Greet) and Katy Warner (The Meme and the Moon). Both Nick and Katy will receive a cash prize of $1,000 each.


How the Prize works:

  • Playwrights submit the first 15 minutes of a new play for children age 11-14
  • The top three plays receive a week’s rehearsal with a professional team
  • The three finalist plays are performed as a moved reading before an audience of children who vote for the winning play (adults don’t get to vote!)
  • The wining playwright receives a full commission to complete the new work, with the runners-up each receiving a $1,000 cash prize.

2017 Martin Lysicrates Prize

The winner of the inaugural Martin Lysicrates Prize was Katie Pollock for her play, Summerland. The runners-up were Dan Giovannoni for House and Verity Laughton for The Zookeeper’s Daughter.

The Martin Lysicrates Prize is presented by The Lysicrates Foundation in association with Griffin Theatre Company and National Theatre of Parramatta.