The prestigious Griffin Award recognises an outstanding play or performance text that displays an authentic, inventive and contemporary Australian voice, with the winner receiving a $10,000 prize.

The award has a long history of recognising new talent and cementing the careers of Australian writers, as the Honour Board of Griffin Award winners attests.

The Griffin Award is generously supported by The Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.

In 2021, we received 119 entries to the Griffin Award, which is a testament to the dedication and creativity of Australian voices in the face of hardship and uncertainty.

The five shortlisted plays were:

the arrogance of it by Olivia Clement
Akaraka by Amarachi Okorom
and birds drink in mirrors by Oleg Pupovac
Tātaraimaka-moana (Beautiful Place by the Sea) by Daley Rangi
Game. Set. Match. by Megan Wilding

Highly Commended
How to Eat Rabbit by Jamila Main

And, taking out the prestigious prize was Megan Wilding‘s Game. Set. Match.!

Rewatch the online announcement of the 2021 Griffin Award winner:

Applications for the 2022 Griffin Award will open in November. Complete our EOI form to register your interest

To learn about all our upcoming opportunities at Griffin, please sign up for Griffin News.