Griffin Award


We are thrilled to announce that the winner of the 2018 Griffin Award is Suzie Miller for her new play On the Face of It.

Now in it’s 21st year, the prestigious Griffin Award recognises an outstanding play or performance text that displays an authentic, inventive and contemporary Australian voice, with the winner receiving a $10,000 prize.

This year, 116 entries were received. The plays were read anonymously by a panel of artists charged with the unenviable task of whittling them down to a shortlist of just five. Each play was read at least twice, with any conflicting opinions resolved by a third reader. The shortlist was put before a judging panel of industry leaders who selected the winner. 

Congratulations to Suzie, and to her fellow shortlisted playwrights Will O’Mahony, Jane Bodie, Kirk Dodd and Vernon Sik Chuan Pua.


Submissions for the 2019 Griffin Award will open at the end of the year. If you would like to be notified when entries open, please fill in this form



2018 Suzie Miller On the Face of It
2017 David Finnigan Kill Climate Deniers
2016 Melissa Reeves The Zen of Table Tennis
2015 Stephen Carleton The Turquoise Elephant
2014 Angus Cerini The Bleeding Tree  
2013 Donna Abela Jump for Jordan
2012 Vivienne Walshe This is Where We Live
2011 Rick Viede A Hoax 
2010 Aidan Fennessy Brutopia
2009 Lachlan Philpott Silent Disco
2008 Rick Viede Whore
2007 Damien Millar Emergency Sex and Other Desperate Measures
2006 Mary Rachel Brown Australian Gothic
2005 Ian Wilding The Carnivores
2004 Debra Oswald Mr Bailey’s Minder
2003 Brendan Cowell Rabbit
2002 Noëlle Janaczewska Songket and Patrick Van der Werf Presence
2001 Verity Laughton Burning
2000 Ian Wilding Below
1999 Neil Cole Alive at Williamstown Pier
1998 Catherine Zimdahl Clark in Sarajevo

The Griffin Award is generously supported by Copyright Agency Limited.


Switch to our mobile site